It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Image

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Sheila DeChantal at Book Journeys and curated for children’s and YA reading by Jen Vincent and Kellee Moye at Teach Mentor Texts. This seemed like a good week for me to participate because I’m reading two books at the same time, which I rarely do – I prefer to finish one before I start another. Fortunately these two are so different there is absolutely no chance I will get them confused!

 Fiction: The Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale

I’m enjoying this middle grade/YA novel about a young noblewoman and her maid who’ve been locked in a tower for seven years. The princess has refused to marry the local ruler her father had selected for her, and as the story goes on there are hints that her intended has already done something unspeakably cruel to her. As I often do, I’m reading this fantasy with an eye to its appropriateness for my K-4 school library. I particularly like the setting, which sounds like long-ago central Asia. Shannon Hale’s graphic novels Rapunzel’s Revenge and Calamity Jack are extremely popular at my library, and Thousand Days should be an easy sell to my older students.

Nonfiction: The Daily 5 by Gail Boushey and Joan Moser

This 2006 book about “fostering literacy independence in the early grades” is already familiar to many elementary teachers, but I have not read it before. “The sisters,” as the authors are known, have set out some explicit lessons to help students build their independence in picking books, reading to themselves, and reading to others. I’m already thinking about how I can adapt these for my library classes, given time and schedule constraints. Boushey and Mosers’ confident attitude about student independence is infectious.

Up next:

My next fiction read will be either R. J. Palacio’s Wonder or Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan. The book people in my PLN have been raving about both of these middle grade/young YA novels!

My next nonfiction reads will probably be articles rather than books: three pieces from the journal School Library Research about 1) school librarians and Response to Intervention, 2) collaboration in planning with teachers, and 3) school librarians as technology integration leaders. I’ve hyperlinked the articles in case anyone is interested; thanks to Ernie Cox @erniec for Tweeting the link a few days ago.

And thanks to Brian Wyzlic for inspiring me to write my first ITWAYR post!

The Book of a Thousand Days image from www.squeetus.com

The Daily 5 image from www.the2sisters.com

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I’m so glad you did the post! I love the information you give about each book; it’s very helpful. I can’t wait for you to read Wonder and The One and Only Ivan. Any idea which one you’re leaning towards for next week?

    Like

Leave a Reply

